Category Archives: About meditation

Meditation: like a stone

From the get-go, The Practice of Living Awareness artfully combines the practices of shamatha and vipashyana. That is not announced so that each step can bring some of the richness and fullness of meditation technique and applications of practice to … Continue reading

Posted in About meditation, Meditations | 2 Comments

Meditation: vipashyana

Light and dark are a continuum. Moistness and water are a union. The relationship of shamatha and vipashyana is both a continuum and a union. Shamatha is the ground, the foundation, and the stability from which and upon which vipashyana … Continue reading

Posted in About meditation, Meditations | Leave a comment

Meditation: erosion and discovery

There are so many layers to a meditation practice; so many discoveries. It’s kind of like when erosion happens on the limestone cliffs in England. Jurassic era dinosaur bones are revealed. Who knew they were there?! Similarly, as one sits … Continue reading

Posted in About meditation, Meditations | Leave a comment

The Inner Dynamics of Asana and Meditation

For thousands of years, the primary posture for meditation has been the lotus or half lotus position. One could wonder if that is simply because people sat on the ground Indian-style for the most part. But, in fact, there are … Continue reading

Posted in About meditation, Life's Insights | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Link for live meditation

You can join the group that meditates each Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday at 9 am ET/8 am CT/ 7 am MT. Here is the link. Love to have your energy and presence in the group field!

Posted in About meditation | Leave a comment