Light of the Soul: Book 2, Sutras 1-4

photoBook 2 of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali give the practitioner the method whereby to gain union. Union is accomplished through various subsets of right relation beginning with one’s livingness (fiery aspiration), one’s mind and awareness (spiritual reading), and one’s dedication to achieve betterment (devotion to Ishvara). Alice Bailey’s commentary on Sutras 1-4 is clear and informative. We added some thoughts.

  1. Kathy begins with a question regarding Bhakti yoga, heart, and 4th degree initiation per what Bailey writes in Sutra 1 of Book II.   LOS book 2 sutra 1a
  2. My response begins with a few thoughts on the maturation and evolution of the schools of Yoga. Also mind during the Atlantean root race.  LOS book 2 sutra 1b
  3. A little on the Yugas and the Great Year. See below for additional links to videos on the subject.  LOS book 2 sutra 1 c
  4. pg.123: fiery aspiration, spiritual reading, devotion to Ishvara  LOS Book 2 page 123, fiery asp, spiritual read, devot to Ish
  5. sutra 2 related to Book 1 sutras 3 & 4  LOS Book 2 sutra 3 and back to Book 1
  6. sutra 3 & 4: avidya, and pg. 126 list of seeds carried from life to life    LOS Book 2 sutra 3, 4, seeds carried from life to life

About Donna Mitchell-Moniak

Visit for additional meditations and blog posts.
This entry was posted in Patanjali, Raja Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light of the Soul: Book 2, Sutras 1-4

  1. Each race has a different yoga, so does that imply that raja yoga is more appropriate for aryan race rather than bhakti or karma yoga, does this also mean the practitioner in aryan root race will have greater degree of success with raja yoga than bhakti or karma yoga? Thanks Donna for creating a platform to discuss this wonderful subject.


    • hi Krishna,
      Yes/and is my response. I look at the Seven Schools of Yoga as seven dispensations of particular orientations into human development and consciousness. I believe these are most ancient and, possibly, out of time as we consider time. I’ll post an article soon on this, if you don’t mind waiting for a fuller response.

      To your question, specifically: Raja Yoga takes all the excellence of the previous yogas an is their synthesis and pinnacle expression. We see that within the Means themselves. Fiery aspiration and devotion of Niyama are bhakti yoga now bent to the discovery and livingness of the higher nature. Pranayama is first as aspect of Hatha yoga and then of Laya. The contemplation of the inner workings of the chitta such that, eventually, through samadhi and samyama, one can deduce energetics, perceive what many cannot, or make oneself invisible – these things come from the harnessing of the chitta through all the yogas married to Jnana yoga.

      It’s a joy to explore the great Rishi’s (Patanjali) heart-mind and gifts to humanity. Thank you for exploring them too!


Your thoughts??

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.